The Speech

As I type in the last few words, I sit back and marvel at my small accomplishment. I have done it, I have finished a speech for the International Speech contest. Over the last few weeks I have been constantly flip-flopping between two main sets of ideas, and sets of stories for the speech. I have only managed to write down this one speech out onto paper (screen?) I feel like I am putting all of my eggs into one basket, and not even my best basket at that.

Is it funny? Not like my other speech.
Is it inspiring? I can only hope so.
Is it good?

Honestly, I have no clue. I am trying hard not to go on my usual self-deprecating tangent and announce my speech as being below par. Then again I never had an inkling my other speech would take me all the way to top spot at the District Humorous Contest either.

However, if Toastmasters’ has taught me anything I have to admit it is very therapeutic, writing a speech where I get to whine and complain about all the “tragedies” in my life. Guilty as charged. All I know is this speech will be yet another story about me. Another story where I will get to “whine” and dive into my feelings without paying a therapist to listen; isn’t that brilliant? (I joke).

In all seriousness, I do feel like this speech is a story I want to try and tell. If I get to only tell this story only once, that will be fine with me. And I’ll be able to cross off one more item on my Bucket List.

2 thoughts on “The Speech

  1. An excellent by-product of Toastmasters is indeed the free therapy. I am so impressed that you have your speech finished already! wow!
    Use all the skills you’ve acquired at TM to make it the best you can. I hope I get to see you do it. πŸ™‚

    • I’m more impressed you’ve got some big guns helping you on your speech. I am even more excited in hearing the product from that πŸ™‚
      I shall plan to do some “testing” with this speech in the next week or so, whether the club knows it or not, haha.
      I will have to Google for your speech in Cincinnati. πŸ™‚

      P.S. Just cause I’ve written the remnants of a speech, doesn’t mean I have it yet all memorized. Tee hee.

Leave a Reply

